Release Date: 06/29/2015

Graduation day exercises were held on Friday, June 19, 2015, for residents and fellows completing their training at Memorial Hospital of Rhode Island. Edward Schottland, president and COO, performed the dual role of congratulating the graduates and greeting the new residents and fellows coming to the hospital in their wake.

In the Family Medicine Department, Melissa Nothnagle, MD, residency program director, Fadya El Rayess, MD, MPH, associate program director, Anna Filip, MD, assistant program director and Jeffrey Borkan, MD, PhD, physician-in-chief, Department of Family Medicine, announced the graduates and welcomed new residents.

Family Medicine graduates included: Cara Berkowitz, MD, who will continue her training as an ER Fellow at Maine General Hospital; Krissy Conner, MD, who will be starting a Fellowship in Hospice and Palliative Medicine at Brown University; Alexis Drutchas, MD, will be a family physician working in the inpatient and outpatient setting at Fenway Health Center in Boston, MA; Lauren Goddard, MD, is joining Jamestown Family Practice; Carmen Goojha, MD, will be teaching medical students in the Brown Doctoring Program; Jessica Huang, MD, will be joining a family medicine practice in Massachusetts; Jennifer Lu, DO, will move on to be a family physician based in Orange County, California; Melissa Mackel, DO, is staying with Brown Family Medicine in the Sports Medicine Fellowship; Tania Menz, MD, will be joining a family medicine practice in Massachusetts; Daria Szkwarko, DO, will be starting in a Global Health, Preventive Medicine Fellowship at the University of Massachusetts in Worcester, MA; Mark Turshen, MD, is co-owner/physician at Direct Doctors; Sara Watson, MD, will join the practice at Thundermist South County; and Erin Wisman, MD, is  joining a federally qualified health center in Rhode Island.

New family medicine residents, who will see patients in the Family Care Center under the supervision of staff physicians, are: April Barnum, DO, Theresa Clearman, MD, Nicole Gleyzer, DO, Chelsea Graham, DO, Ryan Heney, MD, Bridget Hottenstein, MD, Joshua Kahane, MD, Yardana Kaufman, MD, Jason Li, DO, Jennifer Rosenbaum, MD, David Stat, MD, Amanda Stermer, MD and Brinton Woods, DO.

In the Internal Medicine Division, the following physicians graduated and moved on in their careers: Maxwell Afari, MD, will continue his training with a Cardiology Fellowship at St. Elizabeth’s Hospital/Tufts University School of Medicine, Boston, MA; Rasha Alqadi, MD, with a Rheumatology Fellowship at Roger Williams Medical Center, Providence, RI; Mohammad Ashkiani , MD, will take a hospitalist position at Catholic Medical Center, Manchester, NH; Adil Bhutta, MD, will move on to a hospitalist position at Yale-New Haven Hospital, CT; Thomas Guerrero, MD will continue his training with a Hematology/Oncology Fellowship at St. Elizabeth’s Hospital/Tufts University School of Medicine, Boston, MA; Mobeen Rehman, MD will move on to a Cardiology Fellowship at Wayne State University/Detroit Medical Center, Detroit, MI; Mohammed Salhab, MD, will move on to a Hematology/Oncology Fellowship at the University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester, MA; Hammad Shafqat, MD will continue his training with a Hematology/Oncology Fellowship at the Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, SC; Rajesh Shrestha, MD, will take a hospitalist position at Rhode Island Hospital, Providence, RI; and Takehide Umeda, MD, will move on to a Pulmonary/Critical Care Medicine Fellowship at the University of Minnesota Medical School, Duluth, MN.

Graduates received their plaques from Eleanor Summerhill, MD, residency program director, Dino Messina, MD, PhD, associate program director, Joseph Diaz, MD, physician-in-chief, Department of Medicine and Sabrina Witherby, MD, Sajid Saraf, MD, both assistant program directors and Salaheldin Elhamamsy, MD, assistant program director for Continuity Practice.

The graduates made way for a new class of Internal Medicine residents, who began a three-year program that includes education and patient interaction under the supervision of experienced doctors. They are Feras Al Shami, MD, Muhammad Ehtisham, MD, Amr ElMeligy, MD, Mohammad Khan, MD, Humnah Khudayar, MD, Alexander Morales, MD, Anais Ovalle, MD, M.Vanessa Sazani, MD, Osama Siddique, MD and Ali Zia, MD.

         Courtney Glenn, DPM and Andrew Knudsen, DPM both graduated from the Podiatric Medicine and Surgical Residency Program. Dr. Glenn will be relocating to Georgia and Dr. Knudsen will be relocating to North Dakota.

         Ashley Lakin, DO, Matthew Malek, MD and Julia Oat-Judge, MD, all graduated from the Maternal Child Health Fellowship Program.

         Amity Rubeor, DO, graduated from the Sports Medicine Fellowship Program.Andrea Miele, PhD, graduated from the Neuropsychology Program.


Return to News

Family Medicine Grads 2015
Internal Med Grads 2015